mail me shit

older shit

current crap

profile

05.22.04 - 12:18 p.m.

This is the very first, virgin-white look at a webdiary/blogging site/crap that I've ever attempted to read, or contemplated writing to. I signed up primarily so i could complete this other member's survey, whose writing was completely smart and funny, and made me laugh. Laughing has been kinda scarce this week (hard crappy week), so i was willing to send my appreciation vibe out there by completing some survey thing. ....

but what do you do with a space like this? Possibly that is the attraction, but i can't just write in to this and tell you every day what i had for breakfast, whomever "you" might be. Which is another weird thing about this whole webdiary... is it anonymity or exposure people seek on this type of forum? I peeked at a couple of diaries, and half of them are written in a language that I don't understand. ....

basically the teenager talk throws me a little..... a hierogylphic look at what life would be like without vowels and a propensity to say "like, totally, bbbbuuuurrrrrrn, ya know?". sweeties, don't bother bitching at me for not liking your vocab limits, just assume i'm jealous cause i wouldn't fit in. ....

Reminds me of a couple weeks ago when I was training this high school kid in my lab (basically one of these "see what you can do when you grow up" programs for girls in science). anyways, I was letting her flake on the computer as much as she pleased, if only to stop her from fucking up my experiment that day... this sounds mean, and I know i was supposed to be a mentor and everything, but whomever picked me to be a mentor was flat out wrong anyways... dragging people into my profession is not my strong point...sample conversation: ....

her: 'so, like, why do you do this, anyway?' ....

me: 'fucked if i know. chicks, fame and money. it's interesting?" ....

her: 'what about your boyfriend?' ....

me: *loving that she skipped the sarcastic fame and money and interesting portion of sentence and went straight to suspecting sexual confusion* 'he understands that a girl just can't say no to her fans' ....

anyways, she called me over to answer some friend of her's love life question (at which point i wished i had insisted she do the experiment) on instants messenger. (being older apparently gives me an air of wisdom) but i couldn't understand the text... it was all, ....

"like buurrrnnnnnnn,,, man, like, ttly cl? he was like, wow, but u knw? at first he wuz all blnd 'n all, and then, like, beige, and then he ttly scammed this other chick. whaz up?" ....

again, fucked if i can figure out that world. and half the diaries I just clicked on are in the same form. ....

maybe the point of this is to spread my ideas and bad spelling habits to the world, but cynicism prevents me from thinking that this is a useful exercise. but then again, i started this 'cause some guy built a pillow fort in his living room and felt obliged to share it out. made me laugh out loud. guess i should share a little about myself. ....

i can't spell. half the time its not that i don't know how to spell properly, but that i am too lazy to go back and fix all the transposed letters i hit while typing fast. oh yeah, i can type fast, but only without punctuation and with mispelled words. ....

I'm from Newfoundland, island province off the east coast of Canada.. it is the coolest place to live, though unfortunately I currently don't live there... I live in quebec where I'm doing my PhD. over the years i've lived a number of different places.... california, quebec, ontario, central america, europe. I'm 29, currently single. umm.. what else is relevant? This is newfoundland, where i used to live:

....

the title of this entry, and that user name are curtesy of my brother.... when i was younger, I moved to Ontario for a short while to do my undergrad degree at university there which had a good reputation for the field i wanted to go in. My brother was attending university doing architechure in a town not far from mine, so we were hanging out a fair bit... anyways, this was during the height of an IFAW campaign against the seal hunt. Now, I had worked at a phocarium for four years at that point, so nobody liked the little buggers more than me, but nothing pisses me off more than slick advertising campaigns which hold little to no resemblance to actual fact. hell, i would pay more attention to political campaigns if that was what got my rocks off. don't show me pictures of white coat, kitteny looking things spread out in blood on the ice, if they haven't been hunted in more than 10 years. it is misleading and manipulative. anyways, I don't have a newfoundland accent, which is fairly strong and distinctive in canada, so when people in ontario would find out I was a newfoundlander, it was often accompanied with a "you barbarian" look (like i was out there on the ice with my club too?) and several insanely misinformed comments. too long and irritating to get into right now. what can i say? it was the hayday of the politically correct. anyways, my brother made me a t-shirt to wear... it had a newfoundland flag flapping in a breeze, with 'noophie' written over it (a phonetic version of 'newfie' a common term for islanders from here) and underneath the phrase ' I club mainlanders too' (mainlanders being a generalized term for anyone from the rest of canada). ....

i love my brother. he just loves being as offensive as possible on occasion, especially to notions of political correctness. ....

anyways i'll write again. ....

fucked up before - fucked up after

hosted by DiaryLand.com